Wilderness Encounter

Wilderness Encounter

Quiet peace hangs in the camp
Green-hued light seeps into the tent.
A ghostly baying begins far away
And this wolfsong holds the air
Drifting over many miles.

Eyes blurry, quickening breath,
My body opens up to the day
While canine calls reach outward
Into the forest to neighbors
Who signal back their attention.

Closer come the echoes of the packs
Me in-between, my heart races.
Now, too close to these creatures
Who same as me today
Share this rocky outcrop.

An unexpected quiet returns
They have raced away on their search for others
I unzip my tent, unzip myself
Tuck those sounds of morning away.
I must feed the woken hungry.

And there they are.
Four of them lounging together
Standing up and laying a dash away.
They are magnificent
Like no other creature I have seen.

High off the ground, huge in the face
Dark thick rich fur, linebacker necks
Thick rounded paws like padded hooves,
And those sharp intelligent eyes
Turning to me all at once.

My heart no longer races.
I plant my hands on my hips
High on the rock above them
Lowering my natural voice
I project to the others, β€œI found the wolves.”

The intelligent eyes look up as one unit
Then decide in unison their next action.
Wild as the way they were made
They gallop away, loudly over the forest floor
Away from me where they belong.

— by Ava Hypatia, July 2015

________________

Prompt: CC at D’Verse Poet

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wilderness Encounter

  1. Sabio Lantz says:

    Wow, I could feel the deep woods, the wolves surrounding you and honoring you (albeit a bit scary) as their guests. Nice work!

    Like

  2. x says:

    I lived in the woods for a year and woke up to that every morning. What a wonderful feeling it wad to wake up with the day and go to bed to the same rhythm.

    Like

  3. kanzensakura says:

    Oh, the children of the night … Thank you Dracula for that. A most interesting and enjoyable write. Sleeping and waking, in tune with nature – we should all be so blessed to be able to do that, at least once in our lives.

    Like

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Whoa! Such a beautifully captivating piece πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. C.C. says:

    Sharing a ‘rocky outcrop’ with a pack of wolves. Wow! Definitely a wilderness encounter. What an experience in nature that must have been for you! Thanks for sharing it by linking up today πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Wolfsong, what a rush. Not many wolves in western WA, have to settle for coyote yapping. Your poem really sets a tone & mood & transports us to your side; very nicely done.

    Like

  7. billgncs says:

    heard the coyotes, never wolves.

    Like

  8. Grace says:

    I would love to see them as we don’t get to hear and see them often in the city ~ Admiring the lyrical write ~

    Like

  9. That was quite frightening! Nice choice of words and tone. Peace, Linda

    Like

  10. Ah.. the moon of Wolf song
    a lonely one.. reaching out
    to packs of
    LOVE just waiting
    to embrace
    paws
    of
    connection
    in FURRY
    Comfort
    HUGS..:)

    Like

  11. Sumana Roy says:

    How I wish this poem was a bit more longer…nature is truly enchanting….

    Like

  12. Shawna says:

    I am NUTS over your name!!!

    Anyway, your poem is equally fantastic. πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Shawna says:

    P.S. I can’t help but imagine you being Sabio in female disguise, as your formatting matches his. πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

